The Last Cut - DS Harri Jacobs book 1 by Danielle Ramsay

The first in a brand new series, a gritty thriller for fans of Paul Finch and Tania Carver. 'A really cracking read!' Martina Cole Obsessions can kill. First, he selects them. Strips them of their identity. Then he kills them. All for her... DS Harri Jacobs transferred to Newcastle from the Met in the hope of leaving her past behind: the moment where her stalker turned violent. He left her alive, saying that one day he would be back. And she ran. But a year later, she realises he has followed her from home. He'll prove his devotion. With blood...

The first in a brand new series, a gritty thriller for fans of Paul Finch and Tania Carver.

'A really cracking read!' Martina Cole

Obsessions can kill.
First, he selects them. Strips them of their identity.
Then he kills them. All for her...

DS Harri Jacobs transferred to Newcastle from the Met in the hope of leaving her past behind: the moment where her stalker turned violent. He left her alive, saying that one day he would be back. And she ran.

But a year later, she realises he has followed her from home. He'll prove his devotion. With blood...

I have only recently heard of Danielle Ramsay and was looking forward to reading her DI Jack Brady series, but held off when I heard about The Last Cut about to be published.

This arrived at the perfect crime time for me. I was looking for an interesting gritty new series and Danielle delivered that in spades. I was quickly drawn in and I absolutely love books with a chilling stalker feel to them. I find that they have me on the edge of my seat more than other types of psychological thrillers.

Harri is such an unbelievably strong character and I was in awe of her skills at coping. I did wish she would confide in someone though and hoping that she can gel with her team slightly more in the follow up reads. Without compromising her brilliant personality though.

The only slight niggle for me was there was repetition of Harri's thoughts and I know why this was done, and it didn't detract from my enjoyment, but I would liked to have a little less of it in places, it didn't quite slow down the plot, but it wasn't always necessary.

A brilliant start to a new series and I am looking forward to how Harri handles what is coming next. I thoroughly enjoyed this read with some breath taking moments and there was enough gruesome to keep this book as a page turner and suspense to keep it all slightly clandestine.